NC Marriage Licenses
PLEASE REMEMBER THE INFORMATION BELOW CAN CHANGE AT ANY TIME. WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ERRORS OR OMISSIONS. We suggest you contact the Country Clerk's office for updated information.
Marriage licenses are issued between the hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm, Monday - Friday, with the exception of holidays. The bride and groom must appear together, in person, between those hours. Please do not wait until late Friday afternoon!
If both parties are age 21 or over, they each must have a valid (not expired) government issued ID (driver's license, or military ID), and their social security cards. If the original social security cards are not available, an official document such as a W-2 or other type of tax form or banking form may be presented. If either party is between the ages of 18 - 21, they must also present a certified copy of their birth certificate, unless they were born in the issuing County. If either party is under the age of 18, they should contact their County Clerk for more details.
Prior to completing the marriage license application, parties will need to know their parents' full names including mother's maiden name; state of birth, and current address (if possible).
Marriage licenses are good for 60 days and there is no waiting period after issuance. License Fee is $60 cash.
NC requires 2 witnesses over the age of 18 to sign at the wedding ceremony.
For further information on marriage in North Carolina, please refer to the General Statutes.
Here are some helpful hints: Abbreviations in proper names are not accepted (please completely spell all names).
The mother’s information on the application must be the mother’s maiden name.
Any box with a drop down menu can only be answered with that menu.
The education requested is the highest completed. Ex: High School = 4 or College = 1
Fill out and submit a Marriage Application to the Register of Deeds office.
If either party has had a previous marriage, they must show proof of divorce.
Local County Clerk Address and Phone Number List, All NC Counties are listed on our blog.
Beaufort Register of Deeds, Washington, NC 252-946-2323
Carteret County Clerk. Beaufort, NC 252-728-8474
Onslow County. Jacksonville, NC
Craven Register of Deeds, New Bern, NC
Wayne County Clerk, Goldsboro, NC
Lenoir County, Kinston, NC
Jones Register of Deeds, Trenton, NC
Wake County, Raleigh, NC
Pitt County, Greenville, NC
New Hanover Register of Deeds, Wilmington, NC
Pamlico Register of Deeds, Bayboro, NC
You can go to any County Register of deeds to apply for a marriage application and be married in any county in NC. It does not have to be the same county.
But to be married in North Carolina, you MUST get the license in NC! If I am responsible, I prefer to mail it or deliver it to the local Clerks office.
If I use the Post Office, I send it certified. After the wedding, the Officiant has 10 days to send in your marriage license to the issuing county.
Contact the issuing county where you applied to get a copy of your marriage license about 3-8 working days after the wedding.
The time depends on their schedule and time of year.
Does the bride & groom need to sign the license at the wedding? No, the couple signs when you pick up your license.
You will need 2 witnesses over 18 yrs. old to sign at the ceremony.
Get your marriage License 30-60 days before the wedding. After the wedding, contact the Register of Deeds to get a copy of your license.